Areas of Learning Experiences (AoLE's)

The new curriculum will include:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16

  • 3 Cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence

  • Progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16

  • Achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.

The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

  • Expressive arts

  • Health and well-being

  • Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16)

  • Languages, literacy and communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages)

  • Mathematics and numeracy

  • Science and technology (including computer science).

Areas of learning experiences

Click on the image above each title to visit the Welsh Government website for the New Curriculum;

Expressive Arts Humanities Mathematics and Numeracy
Health and Wellbeing Language, Literacy and Communication Science and Technology